Florida Bar Board of Governors December 13, 2022 Meeting Virtually

1. Roll Call

Gary S. Lesser, President F. Scott Westheimer, President-elect Jeremy C. Branning, 1st Circuit Lawrence E. Sellers, Jr., 2nd Circuit Kris B. Robinson, 3rd Circuit Melissa VanSickle, 2nd Circuit Michael Fox Orr, 4th Circuit Gordon J. Glover, 5th Circuit Joshua T. Chilson, 6th Circuit Sandra Fascell Diamond, 6th Circuit Thomas P. Wert, 9th Circuit Julia L. Frey, 9th Circuit Tad A. Yates, 9th Circuit Roland Sanchez-Medina, Jr., 11th Circuit Nikki L. Simon, 11th Circuit Jordan A. Dresnick, 11th Circuit Jorge L. Piedra, 11th Circuit Jeffrey Rynor, 11th Circuit Alice Sum, 11th Circuit Amy S. Farrior, 13th Circuit J. Carter Andersen, 13th Circuit Paige A. Greenlee, 13th Circuit Clifford C. Higby, 14th Circuit R. Sia Baker-Barnes, 15th Circuit Ronald P. Ponzoli, Jr., 15th Circuit Michael J. Gelfand, 15th Circuit Wayne LaRue Smith, 16th Circuit Jay Kim, 17th Circuit Diana Santa Maria, 17th Circuit Lorna E. Brown-Burton, 17th Circuit Hilary Creary, 17th Circuit James G. Vickaryous, 18th Circuit E. Duffy Myrtetus, Out of State Donald A. Workman. Out of State Eric L. Meeks, Out of State Brian D. Burgoon, Out of State Iris A. Elijah, YLD President Anisha Patel, YLD President-elect Joseph "Jody" D. Hudgins, Public Member

Linda Goldstein, Public Member

Members Absent

W. Braxton Gillam, IV, 4th Circuit
Philip J. Bonamo, 7th Circuit
Stephanie M. Marchman, 8th Circuit
Victor Smith, 10th Circuit
Judge Leslie B. Rothenberg, 11th Circuit
Jesse Butler, 12th Circuit
John Schifino, 13th Circuit
Robin I. Bresky, 15th Circuit
Adam G. Rabinowitz, 17th Circuit
Gregory S. Weiss, 19th Circuit
Laird A. Lile, 20th Circuit
John D. Agnew, 20th Circuit

2. Staff in Attendance

Joshua Doyle, Executive Director Elizabeth Clark Tarbert, Director,

Elizabeth Clark Tarbert, Director, Lawyer Regulation Division

Gypsy Bailey, General Counsel & Director, Division of Ethics & Consumer Protection

Terry Hill, Director, Programs Division

Cynthia Jackson, CFO & Director, Administrative Division

Jonathan Grabb, Ethics Counsel

Kelly N. Smith, Senior Attorney

Patricia A. Savitz, Staff Counsel

Jennifer Krell Davis, Director of Communications

Jim Ash, Senior Editor, Florida Bar News

3. Pledge of Allegiance

Board member Thomas Wert led the Pledge of Allegiance.

4. Guests and Liaisons

President Gary Lesser recognized the following guests and liaisons:

Andy Sasso, parliamentarian

Valeria I. Obi, Virgil Hawkins Florida Chapter, NBA

Robert Johnson, Legal Aid Representative, Brevard Legal Aid

Giselle Gutierrez, Cuban American Bar Association

Carlos Martinez, Miami-Dade Public Defender

Craig Shoup, Jacksonville Bar Association

5. Authorization to Use Florida Bar Seal

President Gary Lesser presented.

President Gary Lesser moved, pursuant to Bylaw 2-1.2 (Usage), to permit the family of former Florida Bar President Jay White to inscribe The Florida Bar seal on his memorial headstone. The board voted without objection to approve.

6. Opening Remarks, President Gary Lesser

President Gary Lesser identified items for discussion prior to consideration of final approval of the Special Committee on Greater Public Access to Legal Services report: Whether to reinsert a recommendation to adopt the ABA Model Court Rule on Provision of Legal Services Following Determination of Major Disaster, whether to remove a recommendation regarding the awarding of CLE credit for pro bono service in conjunction with a legal aid group, and whether to append late-supplied data.

7. Special Committee on Greater Public Access to Legal Services Report Co-Chairs Wayne Smith and Jay Kim presented.

Former President Michael Tanner and then President-Elect Gary Lesser appointed the committee to provide recommendations to improve the delivery of legal services to Florida consumers while continuing to assure lawyers play a proper and prominent role. The committee sought data from Florida court clerks and the Office of State Courts Administrator and consulted with legal aid, pro bono, and prepaid legal services experts. It studied the highest-ranking jurisdictions on the National Center for Access to Justice Index, including California, Illinois, Maryland, New York, and Washington, D.C. A motion was made and seconded to remove a recommendation regarding the awarding of CLE credits for pro bono service performed in conjunction with a legal aid program. The board voted, with objection, to defeat the motion.

President Gary Lesser called for a motion to restore a recommendation regarding the ABA Model Court Rule on Provision of Legal Services Following Determination of Major Disaster. The motion failed for lack of a sponsor.

President Gary Lesser said data that arrived too late to be included in the final draft will be appended before the final report is submitted to the Supreme Court. The board voted, without objection, to approve the report.

8. Time and Place of Next Meeting

There being no further business before the board, President Gary Lesser adjourned the meeting at 3:05 p.m. The next board meeting is January 27 at the AC Marriott Hotel in Tallahassee.

SUBJECT INDEX

AUTHORIZATION TO USE FLORIDA BAR SEAL	2
GUESTS AND LIAISONS	2
OPENING REMARKS, PRESIDENT GARY LESSER	3
PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE	2
ROLL CALL	1
SPECIAL COMMITTEE ON GREATER PUBLIC ACCESS TO LEGAL SERVICES	
REPORT	3
STAFF IN ATTENDANCE	2
TIME AND PLACE OF NEXT MEETING	3